Capital Thimphu
Districts (Dzongkhag) 20
Area 38,394 sq km
Population 742,737
Time Zone 6 hours ahead of GMT
Language Dzongkha (official) English widely spoken
Currency Ngultrum (Nu.)
Country Dialing Code +975

The Kingdom of Bhutan lies in the eastern part of the Himalayas. Bhutan is situated between China ( north ) and India ( south ).

 North of Bhutan is Tibet ( China ).  In south of Bhutan is Sikkim, West Bengal, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Tawang ( India ).

Bhutan has an area size of 38,394 sq. km, about same size of Switzerland and is landlocked nation.

Access to Bhutan is via Air and road.

Road entry and exit is via India – Phuentsholing, Gelephu and Samdrup Jongkhar are the Bhutan’s border town with India.

Bhutan airlines flies to Thailand ( Bangkok ), India ( New Delhi, Kolkotta, Guwahati and  Bodhgaya ), Yangoon ( Myanmar ), Nepal ( Kathmandu ) and Singapore.

Bhutan is last Mahayana Buddhist Kingdom with population under one million.